Ministry

The word “minister” means to serve or to give. In the context of the Christian community “ministry” means to give generously for love of God. Ministry is one way we proclaim the Living Word of God. Our actions and behaviours tell others they are truly loved. In experiencing this love people know that Jesus is present among us, and that He loves them deeply and personally.

 
St. Leonard’s is blessed with a community of Christians who carry out the work of the Lord through their Ministries and action groups. In a parish community everyone is called out to share their God given gifts and talents with one another through Liturgy, Sacramental Life, Spiritual Growth and Community Service.
 
St. Leonard’s welcomes you to participate in any of its Ministries and Service Organizations. To find out how you can answer the Lord’s call, please contact our parish office or one of the individual Ministries. We hope that through these ministries St. Leonard’s may become a vibrant part of your Journey to Live Your Faith’
.
 
Click on the link below for the schedule of Mass Ministries

Perspective

A job versus a ministry

Someone has said there is a huge difference between having a job at church and having a ministry at church.

… If you are doing it because no one else will, it’s a job. If you are doing it to serve the Lord, it’s a ministry.
… If you’re doing it just well enough to get by, it’s a job. If you’re doing it to the best of your ability, it’s a ministry.
… If you’ll do it only so long as it doesn’t interfere with other activities, it’s a job.

If you’re committed to staying with it even when it means letting go of other things, it’s a ministry.

… It’s hard to get excited about a job. It’s almost impossible not to get excited about a ministry.
An average church is filled with people doing jobs. A great church is filled with people involved in ministry.

 

Ministry Descriptions

 
 
 

Ministry Team Leaders

          

Ministry Representative Email
     
Adult Faith Formation Judy Wood judyawood4@gmail.com
Altar Linens Colleen Grum acgrum@magma.ca
Altar Servers Daniel Giguere d.danielgiguere@gmail.com
Amor Dei Roxy McCarthy roxy01@sympatico.ca
Children’s Liturgy Elena & Nadia Wilson keywil@rogers.com
Children’s Mass Marc Paradis marc.paradis05@gmail.com
Communications Team Barry Gauthier barrygauthier@rogers.com
Confirmation Preparation Geils Kaluza geills2002@yahoo.com
Cursillo Movement Marc & Susan Lamarre marclamarre@gmail.com
CWL – Catholic Womens League Carol Dailey carol.dailey7@gmail.com
Development and Peace Carroll Woods pieterandcarroll@gmail.com
Finance Council Andre Lefebvre, Chair a-blefebvre@sympatico.ca
First Communion Preparation Team Elizabeth Murphy murphy.elisabeth@gmail.com
Knights of Columbus Jim Kile jkile14@gmail.com
Ladies Auxiliary – Funeral and Hospitality Ann O’Neill aaoneill1@rogers.com
Liturgical Environment Claudia Ressler lcressler@rogers.com
Maintenance  Vince Thompson  vince.thomson@mcgill.ca
Marriage Preparation John & Janice Villeneuve johnvilleneuve@magma.ca
Mary in the Morning Don & Daisy Langdon dslangdon@gmail.com
Mass Ministries (1) Scott Wilson (Ministry Scheduling) keywil@rogers.com
Mass Ministries (2) Jonas Abromaitis (Lectors)  jabromaitis@rogers.com
Mass Ministries (3) Barry Gauthier (Other) barrygauthier@rogers.com
Music Ministry (1) Bob Russell (Sat 5 pm) robert.russell078@sympatico.ca
Music Ministry (2) Colleen Campbell ( 11 am)  colleen.m.campbell1@gmail.com
Music Ministry (3) Marc Lamarre (9:00 am) marclamarre@gmail.com
Mulit Faith Housing Initiative Stephane McNicholl stephane.mcnicholl@canada.ca
Pastoral Care Marc Wood marcrwood4@gmail.com
Pastoral Council Charles Slade  charlesslade@rogers.com
RCIA and Adult Faith Formation Barry Gauthier barrygauthier@rogers.com
Seniors Homes Pastoral Visitation Roxy McCarthy roxy01@sympatico.ca
Youth Ministry Colleen Menton Colleen.Menton@ottawa.ca